Seek Legal Help: Understanding the Difference Between a DWI and a DUI
A DWI in Texas is a different charge than a DUI. Both refer to drunken driving cases, but they distinguish between the age of the driver who was allegedly under the influence. A Texas DUI involves a person who was intoxicated or under the influence of drugs while 21 years old or over. A DWI in San Antonio involves a person who was under the age of 21 and has any alcohol at all in his or her blood. Whether or not that minor might have been impaired by alcohol or drugs is irrelevant. This is what’s known as a zero-tolerance policy.
The penalties for a DWI conviction are also different than those for a DUI conviction. While the latter involves a possible 180-day jail sentence, a one-year driver’s license suspension, expensive driver’s license renewal fees and a fine of up to $2,000, a DWI conviction for a person under 21 might result in a fine of up to $500, a license suspension of up to 60 days, community service and successful completion of a drug and alcohol educational program.
Whether you’re over 21 at the time of your arrest or under 21, you’re going to be in need of an experienced drunken driving defense lawyer. When you bring a respected and effective DWI San Antonio attorney with you, the chances of mitigating your sentence increase substantially.
If you are charged with any type of a DWI in San Antonio, the Law Office of Jesse Hernandez is here to help you. Our lawyers are respected by both prosecutors and judges. After being charged with a DWI or DUI, visit our website to arrange for a free consultation and case review. Do it sooner rather than later as the state of Texas gives you precious little time to try and save your license.