Weapons And The Law In Ohio
If you sell, transport, store, purchase, carry or own a firearm in Ohio, you are subject to very specific fire arm laws. These govern such things as ownership and use of firearms and their ammunition. While the constitution of this state does acknowledge your right as a citizen to keep and even bear arms you are subject to certain restrictions. Failure to obey the gun laws will result in legal issues requiring the hiring of a team of lawyers.
Basic Ohio Gun Laws
According to the gun codes governing firearms in Cincinnati Ohio, although you do not need to have a permit or license to own a rifle, shotgun or handgun, certain restrictions govern the owning or possession of a firearm. For example, in order to have a gun, you must be at least 21 and supply proof of taking and completing a credible and credited training course in the past 3 years. The course must consist of at least 10 hours in the classroom and 2 on a shooting range. For a concealed weapon, the license also requires the applicant pass a competency test on both written and practical aspects of use. A criminal check must also be complied with in conjunction with certain residency needs being met.
Restrictions are also clearly applied in regard to who can possess, use and carry a firearm. The list includes the following:
- Violent Felons: Those who have been indicted or convicted for said type of crimes. This includes not only a felony but a misdemeanor involving violence. They are expressly forbidden from obtaining a license for a concealed handgun.
- Drug offenders: The individual must have been indicted or convicted on a drug charge or charges. The same applies for applying for a concealed weapon’s license.
- Drug/Alcohol Dependents
- Adjudicated mentally incompetent
Anyone who knowingly purchases, sells or arranges for such a person to obtain a firearm is committing a crime. This will require the hiring of teams of lawyers to clarify the specific involved.
A weapon’s offense charge can result in serious and harsh consequences. Lawyers are well aware of the potential penalties from failing to understand or follow the laws. Carrying a concealed weapon without having the right license, for example, can result in up to 6 months in jail. Fines for this 1st degree misdemeanor can be as high as $1,000. Yet, the overall penalty can change if the weapon was loaded or ammunition is within easy reach. Furthermore, if this is not your first concealed weapon offense, it may be changed to a 4th degree felony.
These and other factors that are used to determine the crime need to be met by a full understanding of the law. This requires the consideration and guidance of lawyers. In Cincinnati, Ohio, the best candidates understand the complexity of gun laws. They can help you present your case in a winning light.